Login

About me

My name is Marius Flagstad.

I am 31 years old, and I live in the cold place up north called Norway together with all the polar bears.

I am a programmer by trade and love working with scripts and code. I also love learning new stuff, and have over the years picked up a good deal of other skills to use in my regular work day (like: photoshop, automation, 3D modeling).

I have a Bachelor degree in "Datateknikk" or Computer Science from Narvik, Norway. There I learned a lot of different coding languages that I still use today, and also (maybe the most important part) the passion for programming. My courses there was focusing on learning how to create games. This gave us a deep understanding on programming, while also having fun in the process .

My plan when I started the Bachelor was to become a game developer. But as I got more experienced with the actual technology, work environment, work schedules and payment involved in creating a game I found out that I should rather change my focus.

I was fortunate to also have a love for creating websites. And I therefor decided in 2008 to give it my 100% focus and passion to become a top level webdeveloper

If I where to describe myself as a programmer I it would probably be something like:

  • Passionate programmer regarding my work and spare time projects
  • Problem solver that don't give up
  • Love to challenge myself and learn new stuff.
  • Strive to deliver quality
  • Have a "Yes!" attitude, and don't look at tings as a "problem" until I have tried to solve it
  • Tries to work as self contained as possible since I want to master what I am doing. If I don't understand something I need to study it more, not ask for help.

On my spare time I like to work/code on my own projects (all from websites, applications to games). I try to have a relaxed attitude towards my personal projects and only work on them as long as I find it fun.

It's not a second job, and if I don't feel like working on them for a long time I don't mind. This is also the reason I created this website, so it would be easier to start/stop when I feel like it and get to the finish line slow and steady.

I also like to brew home brewed beer on a pretty serious level. I have currently been brewing for over 5 year and are starting to have quite a few batches on my experience.

All the recipes I use are created by myself and I use the brewing method called "Brew in a bag"

My beer label is called FlagCity Brew and the website can be found here.

My skills

Programing Languages

Good knowledge on
  • PHP
  • HTML
  • CSS
  • JavaScript
  • Ajax
  • Canvas
  • C#
  • XSLT
  • XML
  • Automation Scripting
  • MySQL
Have an understandable knowledge about it, but don't use it that much
  • Java
  • JSP
  • VBScript
  • MSSQL

Framework knowledge

  • JQuery (Javascript & Ajax)
  • Prototype (Javascript & Ajax)
  • Script.aculo.us (Javascript & Ajax)
  • Underscore.js (Javascript)
  • Tridion CMS (XSLT, JSP, C#, VBScript)
  • PHPbb (PHP)
  • Unity (C#)
  • Selenium (C#)

Software Knowledge

  • GIT
  • SVN
  • Visual Studio
  • Photoshop
  • 3D Studio Max

Other skills

  • Game development
  • Test driven frontend release
  • Mobile web development
  • Responsive design
  • Test driven development
  • Automation
  • Scrum
  • Kanban
  • Clean Code
  • Documentation (Wiki)
  • Working in teams (projects)
  • Customer understanding on web

Work projects delivered

November 2013 to March 2014
August 2013 to October 2013
April 2012 to May 2013
January 2011 to August 2011

Work places

Consultant and Partner
VRTKL
September 2014 - Present
System Specialist, Senior Analyst
Accenture
December 2013 - August 2014 (9 months)
Web developer at CMS & FrontEnd
Telenor Norge
September 2010 - November 2013 (3 years 3 months)
Web developer at the business web department
Telenor Norge
April 2009 - September 2010 (1 year 6 months)
Worked for Dfind at Telenor as a web developer
Dfind
October 2008 - April 2009 (7 months)
Receptionist
Forsvaret
July 2008 - October 2008 (4 months)
Grocery Clerk
Kiwi
May 2003 - July 2004 (1 year 3 months)